Tags

, , , , ,

WOW. I’ve seen so many wonderfully painted craft pumpkins out there in blogland, that I decided to give it a try. I’m not what I’d consider a crafty person, BUT I have a major weakness for all things to do with Halloween and like to add to my decor every year. So, off to the dollar store I went…

I picked up these pumpkins and gourds  along with some silver metallic acrylic paint for under $8. I changed my mind about the silver (see – one of the pumpkins has a silvery glow to it?) as I was painting the first pumpkin… and decided to try a more antique look, which I thought would go better with the rest of my Halloween decor.

First I primed the pumpkins (can’t believe I’m saying that… who’s ever primed a pumpkin?!) and then gave them two light coats of antique white.

Here they are primed:

After the paint dried and I was satisfied with the coverage I mixed a little black suede paint (from a sample jar I had) with some glaze. By the way, I can’t say enough about the black suede… it’s such a soft lovely black! I took a small brush and dipped it in the glaze and focused mainly on applying it in the natural crevice lines of each pumpkin. My daughter Livia wanted in on the project too:

I followed my quickly wiping it away:

Then I finished these little beauties off by painting the stems black and as an afterthought adding a couple cute bows from some chocolate wrappers I had lying around the house. I’m not sure which way I like them more… what do you think? With without bow or with?

By the way, did I mention my inspiration for this project? My favorite perfume, Jo Malone (I wear the Orange Blossom & French Lime Blossom daily and NEVER tire of these fragrances) has the most amazing packaging…

I Heart Jo Malone!!!!!!

PS – Linking up to the parties on my Girls Just Want to Have Fun Page.

