Tags

, , , ,

I found these Fleur de Lis candle holders at Michael’s a few weeks ago and picked them up at 60% off.

I didn’t like the original finish, which was too dark and UGLY!

So, I thought I’d try giving them an antique look more to my liking. I  found some crackle medium at Walmart during the summer, and have been wanting to try it.

First, I painted two coats in dark grey acrylic for the base.

Then I applied the crackle medium and let dry.  I followed with a nice ivory acrylic and painted one thick coat over the base and crackle coats. As it started to dry, I could see the cracks starting to form.

I like the way the grey still shows through the top coat.

Who doesn’t love a good before and after?

I picked up some round candles at Ikea and Voila! Fini!

If you have never used a crackle medium before, it’s actually really easy – all you have to remember is that you need an acrylic base coat, then the medium, then an acyrlic top coat. Otherwise the paint won’t crack!

I’ll be linking up to the parties here and Wow Us Wednesdays.

