Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve been wanting to get some curtains for our living room for some time now, so when I saw these ones from Ballard Designs, I decided to get some plain IKEA curtains and stencil them myself. I ended up choosing a sand color curtain that goes with the neutral palette of our living room. They were $30 for 2 panels and I needed 4, so altogether this project including the rod (I needed a 300 cm rod) came to about $70 plus tax.

I chose a Martha Stewart damask stencil, which I already had, and used white acrylic paint with a fabric medium. You need 2 parts paint to one part medium.

Each panel took me about 45 minutes to complete… and I only spilled paint on one of the panels (which I was able to wipe scrub away)! I worked from the top of each panel down forming a column, alternating the spacing each time. I also was very generous with the paint on the stencil, because I wanted the white to contrast as much as possible with the sand color.

The Ballard drapes would have cost me well over $400 for 4 panels… I think I’m pretty happy with my version, which cost less than $100!!

Linking up to the parties listed here and WOW.

