Tags

, , ,

I’ve been racking my brain trying to think of what to give this year for Christmas gifts for Livia’s preschool teacher and aide. Last year we made a CD of her favorite Christmas songs (I loved this idea and can say as a teacher myself that this is a great gift!) with her picture and the year on the front. I wanted to give something personalized this year again, without spending a lot of money.

Here’s last years gift:

I’ve been spending a lot of time on Pinterest lately and came across this website: www.eyechartmaker.com. I have seen a lot of other blogs use some of these personalized eye charts to add visual interest as part of a gallery wall. I decided to make a Christmas “card” using the eye chart maker for each of her teachers and frame them using black Ribba frames from IKEA, which cost $5 each.

I printed up the images from the website on my printer and then reduced them slightly in size (you can do this if you have a scanner or take it to Staples and have them reduce it) so that they’d fit the frames. I decided not to use the mats provided, so I popped them in behind the printed eye chart, so that if when her teacher takes out the eye chart she can use the mat  for displaying other photos or art. The thing I like about this gift is that it’s practical in the long run…. I mean who can’t use an extra picture frame?

The message I typed in was: Merry Christmas (teacher name) from Livia. You can play around with the wording until it works… you are only aloud a certain number of characters. It just so happened that both of these were the perfect length… so I didn’t have to get creative.

I liked them so much, I decided to print up both my children’s names and their year of birth and frame them to hang in their rooms:

Love it!!

So that takes care of teacher gifts until June!

**Linking up to the parties listed here and WOW and Today’s Creative Blog

