Tags

, , , ,

Well I finally found a few minutes this evening to get my craft on! My son has been sick the past few days (I think it’s just a bad cold, but he’s had a bit of a fever as well), so I’ve been home today making chicken soup with rice – my remedy for any and every illness. After he went to bed this evening I grabbed a few supplies and finally got started on my snow globes. I’ve been itching to make these since I saw them in a magazine in November, but just haven’t gotten around to it! Anyway, since then I’ve seen many wonderful interpretations on other blogs and new I wanted to try to get these made before Christmas arrived!

                                                      Source

I used two small mason jars and an even smaller jar that I had on hand.

Some craft trees I picked up at Michael’s.

Some Pottery Barn snow that I got a few years ago and reuse every year (I love this stuff – it’s made of wax flakes).

Other supplies I used:

  •  glue gun
  • white sparkles
  • cotton balls

I took off the lids and hot glued the trees directly onto the base. At first I put cotton balls under the trees to try to raise them up higher into the jar, but they did not sit perfectly straight and I decided just try this instead.

Then I added some cotton (stretched it out and fluffed it) and snow around the base of the trees and then added some snow into the jar as well with some sparkles. I also hot glued a few pieces of the snow onto the trees.Then I carefully inserted the trees into the jars and tightened the lids.

I also added a little pinecone to the top (or should I say bottom?) of one jar with hot glue.

Linking up to the parties listed here and WOW

