Tags

, , ,

Hi everyone,

Hope you are all having a great weekend, and for those celebrating Memorial Day, a great long weekend! Last weekend was our Victoria Day long weekend, and I went to Las Vegas with five of my girlfriends to celebrate the fact that a few of us are turning 40 this year! We had an amazing time together sans husbands and kids – we shopped till we dropped, saw La Reve at the Wynn, ate at some great restaurants, soaked up some sun by the pool and most importantly laughed our heads off! I can’t wait for the next trip girls!! Now that I’m back, I’m trying to catch up on some prep for the vintage fair {The Olde Farmhouse Vintage Market} on June 23rd. Ahhh… this is now less than 30 days away and I’m sooooo not as ready as I’d like to be. Hopefully by next week I should have completed a few projects that I’m working on for the fair, ready to share with you.

In the meantime, here’s a chair that I painted and re-upholstered for my Mom for Mothers Day.

She brought it over a while ago and asked my if I could do something with it. Originally the frame was painted a dark green and the seat was a floral {maroon, green and ivory}. It was quite dated {very late 80’s/ early 90’s}. I wish I had remembered to take a picture of it, because it looks quite different now!

I decided to spray paint it black and then recovered the seat using a canvas drop cloth I picked up at Home Depot. I used a stencil and black paint {soft black} with a fabric medium. I love how it turned out and I think my mom does too. She says she keeps looking at it and still seeing the old chair as it was, though! I think it’s much better suited to her decor now.

PS – this is the first time I’ve used canvas to upholster something, but was very impressed with the texture and look. I will definitely use it again, especially considering the price is so reasonable. I could easily cover several chairs with just one $10 drop cloth!

Sharing with the parties listed here as well as:

WOW

Debbie Doos

DIY Project Parade

Nifty Thrifty Tuesday

