Tags

, ,

I’ve been really busy the past couple of weeks making over our laundry room and hallway. One of my goals this summer while I have time off from teaching is to paint all of the moldings, doors and walls in the hall, laundry area, bathroom and kitchen. A lofty goal I think, but so far I’ve managed to knock off several things on that list. I’ve also been working on a few projects for the laundry room, which I’ll post later in August if all goes as planned. One of these projects was to come up with a better key holder for all of our keys. This is what we’ve been using for the past several years…

I picked this up in Dublin several years ago at a Souvenir shop and it’s just not big enough for all of our key chains.

Here’s what I came up with:

I found this “board” at Home Sense a few months ago and was pondering what to do with it. I originally came with two “hooks” at the bottom which were totally useless as they were flush against the board. Then I saw this on Pinterest…

DIY Wall Mounted Wooden Hotel Key Rack - Remodelaholic | Remodelaholic

Remodelaholic.com

I loved this and thought that I could do something fairly similar with the board I already had. I bought bigger hooks (12 in all) at Home Depot, because we have a LOT of keys and decided that 4 rows of 3 would work best. The hooks cost more than the board (which was only $7) – the whole project ended up costing about $25 which is not too bad for a custom key rack!I think this would also make a great necklace holder…. I think that will be my next project if I can find another board like this!Like my antique key? I just picked it up at a vintage store that was closing down.

Sharing at:

DIY Showoff

Tip Junkie

Coastal Charm

Shabby Creek Cottage

WOW

Redoux

French Country Cottage

SNS

Joy2Journey

Blackberry Vine

