Tags

, , , , , , ,

Happy New Year everyone! I thought I’d start off the year with a little DIY project using a wood burning image transfer technique. I really hate it when I forget to take BEFORE PHOTOS! It always seems to happen when the “after” is {in my mind anyway} very dramatic. I really could kick myself for NOT snapping a photo of this little cutting board my mom asked me to salvage for her.imgp8743

It was heavily varnished with some very ugly little flowers painted on it. I wasn’t sure if it was even worth tackling, but I decided to sand it down anyway and at least strip off the varnish and paint. I thought it would look good with a graphic on it, but didn’t want to paint it or use a lot of ink, because I wanted the end product to be food safe. I ended up transferring a the graphic lightly using Citra Solv and then used my Versa Tool to burn the image into the wood (my hope being that this process would burn off the ink and simply leave the darkened wood). The image is one of my favorites from the Graphics Fairy. The wood smelled so nice as I was burning it! christmas decor 050 christmas decor 051 christmas decor 052 christmas decor 053 IMGP8739

The Versa Tool is very handy. I picked it up last year at Michael’s and it includes a stencil cutting tool (hot) as well as a wood burning attachment. I’ve used it a lot, but this is one of the first times I’ve used the wood burning attachment. I like that the image is REALLY permanent – nothing except some heavy sanding is going to fade the image.

This year one of my goals is to get rid of all the plastic cutting boards in my kitchen and replace them with wooden ones. I think this wood burning tool will come in handy…

Sharing here:

Graphics Fairy

Debbie Doos

Coastal Charm

Savvy Southern Style

Shabby Creek Cottage

Funky Junk Interiors

