Happy Lunar New Year! I can’t believe it’s almost mid February! For the past several weeks our household has been plagued with virus, strep throat, and various cold and coughs. Is it just me, or has this winter been worse than ever for being bombarded with nasty bugs? Lets just say that I’m happy it’s a long weekend (our first Family Day holiday) here in B.C.! We had a beautiful day here in Vancouver, which was a nice surprise! We even got out for a walk, and I was also able to finish sanding some chairs for our kitchen.

Speaking of chairs, here’s another children’s rocking chair that I painted for my niece Juno.

DSC_2805

Livia helped me with the layering. We did one coat of Old White ASCP, followed by about one-and-a-half coats of Duck Egg Blue. christmas decor 010She is a good student. I’ve taught her how to make sure she gets off the excess paint from the brush before sweeping it onto the chair, and how to hold and angle the brush to get the best coverage. I enjoy sharing in these projects with her, and I can see that she gets a similar feeling of satisfaction from getting “…lost in the making of something” {Kelly Doust, Fun Family Crafts: 2011}. I love that description - lost in the making of something – I recently picked up Fun Family Crafts at Costco and love how Doust describes the importance that creativity and crafting plays in ones ability to internally create feelings of contentment and pleasure, as well as connection with others (2011). What a great skill to have and to teach!christmas decor 008christmas decor 009DSC_2801DSC_2803I think Juno likes her chair, however she doesn’t use it as intended… she uses it as a walker, pushing it around on the hardwood. Yup… she’s a going concern!!

Sharing here:

Debbie Doos

Coastal Charm

Savvy Southern Style

Shabby Creek Cottage

Miss Mustard Seed

Funky Junk Interiors

