Tags

, , , , ,

Mirror, mirror, on the wall, who is the fairest one of all?

This framed mirror came with a dresser that I rescued, but I didn’t want to keep it with the dresser, so I decided to turn it into a chalkboard. Yes, you can prime a mirror and paint it with chalkboard paint! Who knew, right? I decided to use a Zinsser latex primer that I bought last year and don’t like that much {the oil based works much better on furniture}. Here’s what the frame looked like when I found it:

For this project I thought the crappy latex primer would work just fine… especially since I slapped on about 4 coats just to make sure the glass was really coated well. I lightly sanded after all the priming was finished, and then used a spray chalkboard paint in black {I think I bought it at Walmart}. It took about half a can to cover the surface adequately.

For the frame I decided to go with aqua {why break my aqua streak?} instead of antique white, which I had originally planned. I used Behr latex paint in Mermaid’s treasure and added some ivory white until it was light enough. I then distressed it and added a dark glaze to age it a bit and take some of the edge off the aqua. For the glaze, I actually mixed dark walnut wood stain with glaze and mixed it together. I tried applying the stain on just by itself {on the back}, but it was too dark… so I came up with this idea. I added about 4 or 5 drops of the stain to a small {1/2 cup or so} of glaze. This worked nicely and gave the effect I was looking for.

I used gorilla glue to attach the mirror to the back and tested it once dry to make sure it was really stuck on there… believe me, that mirror is not coming off! I’m not sure what kind of hook/fastener to attach to the back for hanging, so I’ve left it for now.

The lilac tree is finally blooming in our yard… I think these are my favourite flowers, with the exception of the plumeria. I can’t get enough of the smell, wafting through the house. Can you smell them?

Linking up with the parties listed here as well as:

WOW

Debbie Doos Newbie Party