Tags

, , , , ,

I was recently at one of my favorite “furniture” thrift stores {this one is not really very good for anything else, but I’ve lucked out with furniture there several times} looking for a chair {which I did not find} and came across this little desk. I love the legs, but I really love the way it opens and COMPLETELY closes to hide “STUFF” if you want to. I love hiding “STUFF”!  I think it’s a secretary desk, or something close to that, so that’s what I’m going to call it. It was in great condition and priced right, so of course I took it home with me!

I would have loved to paint this in ASCP Duck Egg Blue or Provence, but since I was hoping to put this desk in my kitchen “office” I wanted something that would work with my pedestal table as well as the colour scheme of the room {which is not painted yet, but will be Revere Pewter}. I also promised myself that I was not going to buy any ASCP until I used up some of the paint I already have in the garage. Soooo, instead I decided to mix Benjamin Moore Muslin with Ivory and make my homemade chalk paint {I use unsanded tile grout}. The color looks very close to the CeCe Caldwell Vintage White. I made the chalk paint pretty thick… this is it after one coat with some major distressing. I actually really liked it like this, but ended up doing one more coat and not as much distressing.

I like how the top opens and the back part flips up… it’s actually perfect for my computer monitor.

I’m now sitting at my new desk typing this post!

Sharing at:

DIY Showoff

Debbie Doos

Coastal Charm

Tip Junkie

Savvy Southern Style

All Star Block Party

The Shabby Creek Cottage

Redoux

French Country Cottage

Miss Mustard Seed

Funky Junk Interiors

