Tags

, , , , , ,

Happy New Year everyone! I’m excited about sharing a few projects that I couldn’t publish before Christmas, because they were gifts (so I had to be hush, hush)! You may all know by now that I love Ikea, so what better way to start off 2013 than by showing you how to hack an Ikea stepstool and really customize it to your decor. This wooden Ikea stool runs about $18 and is real wood, not MDF (woohoo!!). christmas decor 001

I wanted to personalize it for my niece, so I went with some branch/bird wall decals that I picked up at the dollar store, and paired those with some CeCe Caldwell paint in a soft Kentucky Mint green. The stool did not need any sanding, so I just applied the decals and re-arranged them a little until I got the look I liked.

christmas decor 004

Then I painted directly over them with two coats of CeCe Caldwell.christmas decor 006

christmas decor 005

After the second coat, I carefully removed the decals and used my fingernail to gently push out any small areas where the paint bled under the decal. After the paint was completely dry I lightly distressed some of the stools edges and applied two coats of satin poly acrylic. DONE! I really like the wood grain showing  – this is the cool thing about reverse stencilling. christmas decor 024

I might just have to go and pick one up for myself – this stool is the perfect height for  a vertically challenged person like me to reach the top cupboards in the laundry room!

PicMonkey Collage

Have you ever done an Ikea hack?

Sharing here:

DIY Showoff

Coastal Charm

Blackberry Vine

Savvy Southern Style

The Shabby Creek Cottage

Ikea Hackers

Miss Mustard Seed

Tatertots and Jello

Funky Junk Interiors