Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I picked up this chair at Farmhouse Furniture on South West Marine Drive in Vancouver. They have absolutely amazing pieces – inside and out. This one was cheap because it needed some repair work. I will be visiting this place more often – they ship containers of antique furniture from Quebec and there are some amazing finds – lots of architectural pieces, bird baths, antique bed frames, old window panes, shutters… IMG_3591This piece went through a few transformations before I was happy. At first I had painted it daffodil yellow (CeCe Caldwell) and wasn’t completely satisfied, so ended up layering ASCP Antoinette on top of that and distressing it. I wasn’t loving this either, so  I decided to experiment with mixing graphite and duck egg blue to make grey. I normally would have used old white, but my paint supply is running low at the moment, so I used what I had. IMG_3209As it turned out, the Graphite with Duck Egg Blue made this really lovely grey. IMG_3588This was my first time using white wax. I really worked it into all the detailing on the chair with a round brush. I love how it highlights all the details.
IMG_3589As you can see here, the white wax also gives the entire chair a weathered whitewash look. I LOVE the weathered look. This is one of my favourite stencils…IMG_3592IMG_3593IMG_3595Sharing at:

Between Naps on the Porch, Show and Share Monday at: Coastal Charm, Knick of Time (Tuesday), Savvy Southern Style: Wow Us Wednesdays ,The Dedicated House, Redoux Interiors, French Country Cottage, Miss Mustard Seed, Funky Junk Interiors